New Visa fees for declined transactions reattempts

Visa 29/03/2021

What’s changing?

From July 2021, Visa will start applying new rules for reattempting declined transactions. These rules will be applied through new system integrity fees, and change based on the reasons for the decline. You can download an overview of the decline reason category codes here.

Payvision has implemented a solution to prevent you from incurring any system integrity fee. How? We will block the prohibited or excessive transaction resubmission that don’t comply to Visa’s rules.

Which are the rules?

The new rules from Visa are:

  • Reattempts of transactions declined with a Category 1 code are prohibited
  • Declines within categories 2 – 4, a maximum of 15 reattempts over a period of 30 days are allowed.

Please refer to the table below to see in detail the categories’ description, the regional effective dates, and the fee types.

You can also download the pdf of the table here.

Visa is applying new rules for reattempting declined transactions, based on the reason for the decline.

How will this change affect you?

Payvision’s solution varies based on the category code of the declined transaction.

  • Category 1: if you resubmit for authorization the transactions that are declined by the issuer, they will be blocked.
  • Category 2, 3, and 4: you can resubmit for authorization the declined for a maximum of 15 times during a 30 days period. Any further reattempts will be blocked

Effective date

Visa’s regulations: July 1 2021, October 2021 and April 2022
Payvision solution: already effective